May Wrap Up

So this was such a weird two months in terms of reading and watching because I was in the middle of reading so many things and getting ready for New York. I was in the middle of reading/watching so many things that I didn’t get much finished story of my life really too much to read and watch! Anyway here is what I consumed spanning April and May:

In terms of books here is the list:

malamander

Malamander by Thomas Taylor

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43132607-malamander?ac=1&from_search=true

Opinion:I loved this 9-12 years old book it was a mixture of mystery and adventure with a sea monster what more could you ask for. It is fantastic for anyone who loved adventure stories, great for everyone to read and perfect for fans of Piers Torday.

Stars: 5

 

the maker of monsters

The Maker of Monsters by Lorraine Gregory

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43373308-the-maker-of-monsters?from_search=true

Opinion: I absolutely loved this which I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did but the characters were amazing and the plot was so thrilling. You felt so connected to the main character and was rooting for him the whole time. I can’t recommend it enough for everyone especially kids. Thank you so much OUP Children’s for sending this to me.

Stars: 5

 

trevor lee

Trevor Lee and the Big Uh-Oh! by Wiley Blevins

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43572737-trevor-lee-and-the-big-uh-oh?ac=1&from_search=true

Opinion: I did not enjoy this book at all. I really was excited about the premise of the book as it was dealing with a lot of interesting issues from kids struggling to read to home situations. Ultimately this was just in my opinion badly written and the main character did and said some questionable things and there were no consequences for those actions. I do not recommend this book. 

Stars: 2

 

mystery of the colour thief

Mystery of the Colour Thief by Ewa Jozefkowicz

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37935200-the-mystery-of-the-colour-thief?from_search=true

Opinion: I enjoyed this book it was a fascinating read that really delved into the issues of guilt and growing up. This book is perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo but I would say it is more for the upper end of 9-12 years old books.

Stars: 4

 

poems to live your life by

Poems to Live Your Life By Chris Riddell

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41431674-poems-to-live-your-life-by?ac=1&from_search=true

Opinion: I loved this collection as it full of amazing poems from old and current poets that brought out a lot of memories and emotions for me. I loved that the different themes of poems represented the different stages in your life. This is the perfect gift for anyone who want to get into poetry.

Stars: 4

 

 

Comics

mockingbird vol 1

Mockingbird Volume 1 by Chelsea Cain – A= Kate Niemczyk

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32729881-mockingbird-vol-1?ac=1&from_search=true

Opinion: I loved this comic it was hilarious and relatable to the annoyances of everyday life. It looked at her struggles with human and superhero lives and keeping them balanced which I found intriguing.

Stars: 5

 

bitch planet vol 1

Bitch Planet Volume 1 Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue DeConnick – A= Valentine De Landro

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25074849-bitch-planet-vol-1?from_search=true

Opinion: I found this comic so confusing because the storyline was so all over the place that I couldn’t follow the story of women and the story of men in the high society. I found the concept fascinating but it just made not much sense to so I was very disappointed. Hopefully the next volume is better.

Stars: 2

BITCH PLANET LOGO 1

Bitch Planet Volume 2 President Bitch by Kelly Sue DeConnick – A= Valentine De Landro

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29972029-bitch-planet-vol-2

Opinion: I enjoyed this volume so much more as it had clear storyline throughout with big build up and a great cliffhanger that it was worth reading the first volume for it. I still feel that you are very disconnected to the characters even with the flashbacks of their past in the comic but that is because this is for these characters an action based comic. The ending made me want to read and hope that the next volume will be even better.

Stars: 3

 

 

Films

long shot

Long Shot

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2139881/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I loved this movie one of the best romantic comedies I have seen in ages. Charlize and Seth are literally the perfect couple. If you looking for a great, funny chill out movie this is it.

Stars: 10

 

john wick 3

John Wick 3

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6146586/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I really enjoyed this third instalment as I love John Wick’s character plus I loved Halle Berry’s character she was so badass plus her back story was interesting. I think the action sequences were so amazing but I think there could have been more plot to the film.

Stars: 7

 

pokemon detective pikachu

Detective Pikachu

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5884052/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

Opinion: This film was so adorable on every level. Plus it was just a great kids film that made you nostalgic for when you were a kid. Plus it has made me want to go and play Pokemon (the games not Pokemon Go!). If you need a feel good movie with a splash of nostalgia this the one for you.

Stars: 10

 

pet sematary

Pet Sematary

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0837563/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I loved this adaptation. I can’t remember what I thought of the old one so going to have to rewatch it but this version was so creepy it got under your skin. If your a fan of Stephen King go see it.

Stars: 10

 

mama mia 2

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6911608/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: It was okay sequel not something special which is a shame because Cher and Andy Garcia are so amazing in their duet. I think there was too many flashbacks and swapping between two different places which made it too much.

Stars: 5

 

 

TV shows

stranger things

Stranger Things

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4574334/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I adore this TV show if you are a fan of horror and supernatural TV shows this is the one for you it is so incredible in every aspect. I am doing rewatch for the new season and I still adore it.

Stars: 10

 

izombie

Izombie

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3501584/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: One of my favourite TV shows a mixture of zombies and a crime show what more could you ask for. Plus some hilarious banter between main characters and epic story telling. Definitely check it out.

Stars: 10

 

dynasty

Dynasty

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6128300/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I am enjoying the few episodes I have watched so far it is very over the top dramatic almost tella novella style. My grandmother used to watch the old series so I am intrigued to see what the new series will bring.

Stars: Undecided!

NCIS

NCIS

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0364845/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: This is just a staple in diet of TV I love the characters and it just for me one of the best crime shows ever. If you haven’t tried it I would recommend it.

Stars: 10

 

what if

What if

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8860450/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

Opinion: I watched one episode and all I could think is rip off of Damages but hopefully it won’t go in that direction and I will have something new and mysterious to watch. As Rene is just so devious in this role she is in her element.

Stars: Undecided!

As always keep geeking!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

alicejblack

Author Alice J. Black blogs

Dressed To Read

Book Blogger

Touch My Spine Book Reviews

☆📚~A Magickal Book-Blog Featuring A Free-Spirited & Custom Made Bibliophile ~🔮

The Reading Fangirl

A Bookish Bollywood Blog

Chris Wolak

Books • Libraries • History

Fantasy/Sci-Fi FILM & WRITING FESTIVAL

Submit your film, screenplay, novel, to the festival and get it showcased at the FEEDBACK Festival. Full Feedback on all entries.

In Case Of Bookishness

Follow Me On Twitter and Instagram

Escape Into YA Books

Reviews young adult & children's books

ComicSpectrum Comic Reviews

By Fans who Love Comics for Fans who Love Comics - http://comicspectrum.com/

RiverMoose-Reads

Books, Reviews, Writing, & Rambling

GEEK BLOGGER UK

Geeky about Pop Culture - Sci-Fi, Superheroes and more...

Ink Drops Books

book talk

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

onturningpages

Impressions about the books that have made their way into my hands and my heart.

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

TeacherofYA's Book Blog

Books for YA Readers and Books for the Classroom

%d bloggers like this: